Well here we are! Officially closing out 2009. What a decade, what a year! I struggled to come up with an appropriate post tonight. I don’t like dwelling on the negative, but we have had a lot of negativity this year. I prefer to end on a positive note.

I often speak of losing my Dad in 2002. What I choose to take away from that is that I am stronger than I thought I was. It set me on the path to accomplish the things I have this last few years. In 2009 I turned 40. I can honestly say that coming into 2009, I was a little scared of turning 40. But something clicked in me that made me jump straight into overdrive. I made the hard decision to put my recruiting business on the back burner and focus full steam ahead on Empower Me. when I hit the big 4-0 in April I had some things I had to face. My son was leaving and heading to college. I was not happy with my current business. I lost my spark. How would I fix that?

Well, I started by meeting with my friend and Editorial Director and telling her I wanted to start a magazine. We put that in motion, then I started my radio show Views From the Top. I already had my Empower Me Networks, but I had to reinvent & upgrade that to fit the new agenda. Then I decided to work on launching my own Internet TV Channel! Was I insane? People thought I was. Pouring my all into a business that was not very profitable. But listen, I wrote a book, hosted my own radio show, started a magazine, aligned myself with influential people. Why WOULDN’T it work?

As I look back I have no regret. I am busting at the seams with pride over all I’ve accomplished. I’ve found my passion and my rhythm. And I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. My message in all of that is you need to define your path. Don’t stay stuck in something you have no passion for. We live in extraordinary times. Technology and passion can be an awesome thing if you apply them. Don’t let anyone tell you “you can’t”. Whatever you’re sitting on the fence about, go into 2010 with a renewed vigor and passion, and go for it.  It may require that you reinvent and upgrade yourself, the people in your life, and your surroundings. But let me tell you, it is well worth it.

So I don’t leave 2009 with regret or sorrow about the bad year that was. I leave it full of hope and determination. I look forward to 2010 and the next decade. I’m strapping in for the ride. I’m going for it! I hope you will too.

Wishing you a blessed, prosperous, successful, wealthy, healthy, Happy New Year!!!

Adrienne Graham
Publisher, Author, Radio Show Hostess, Power Brok(H)er, Producer, Media Mogul!

