ocoverFirst of all, let me acknowledge that I am late. I should have made this post last month. But better late than never. It’s no secret that Oprah is one of my role models. I may not agree with everything she says or does, but it doesn’t diminish my respect for her. You see, I can agree to disagree with her and not hate her. But in the end, she is always a shrewd business woman, a compassionate human being and a powerful force to be reckoned with. She is someone I aspire to be like. I don’t want to replace Oprah. I want to be a media mogul in my own right without trying to step into her shine. I just want to give women the tools they need to experience professional growth and empowerment through media.

Why am I writing about Oprah today? If you’ve already read the September 2009 issue you would know why.  I remember the day I was in Barnes & Noble looking for some business books when I happened by the newsstand section. I don’t subscribe to a lot of magazines and I don’t subscribe to O (sorry Oprah!). I only buy magazines off the rack that resonate with me or move me to pick it up. Sometimes I’ll get O sometimes I don’t. This particular day I was feeling so lost and down. I felt like I had hit a wall and all the motivational nuggets I shared with people were no longer working for me. I felt like something big was pressing up against my chest (literally) and I panicked because I didn’t know how I would defeat it.

As I walked past the magazines there it was. Standing out front and center with the words that made me want to pick up this magazine. “You’re Stronger Than You Know“.  That’s all I saw, no other headline on O or any other magazine in its vicinity. At that moment, tears started rolling down my cheeks. As I read on underneath the headline I saw “How to tap into your true power and really make it work for you”. The tears turned to sobbing as people started looking at me. I didn’t care. I started reading that first page of the article. I knew right then that I had to buy this and take it home to devour. So I rushed to the register, paid for the magazine and rushed home. By the time I was done reading that article, I was a wreck. I hadn’t cried that much since my Dad died in 2002. But strangely I felt this cathartic experience. I wasn’t sad or angry. I didn’t sit and drown in self pity. For the first time in a while things started to click. I rushed to the computer and emailed every woman in my inner circle and told them the needed to pick up this issue and READ it. I also told them for the first time that I had been going through some things and I was fighting some internal demons. I didn’t think about it or ask for any responses. But you know, the funny thing is, I felt like I was giving birth!  All the baggage I was going through felt like it was being peeled off by the layer!

The article or my experience wasn’t about Oprah. It was about me facing whatever I was dealing with and picking up and pressing on. That article made me dig deeper into myself and figure out what it was I wanted to do and what I needed to do. My next step was to take ACTION.  See, we can have all the rah rah motivational nuggets shared with us as we can stand. But if we don’t MOVE on it, we will forever stay lost. Reading that article inspired a new found motivation in me.  I had to learn how to take back my power and don’t put much stock in what other people think of me or say about me. I can’t live for them, I have to live for me. Power is not making tons of money or hob nobbing with the wealthy. It s satisfaction of knowing that you are living the best life and living in positivity. It’s about being unafraid to be you regardless of what others say or think. It’s about being able to touch people and give them hope and motivation to want to do better for themselves.

I did get around to reading the rest of the magazine (recently) and it’s a great issue. But I had to marinate on that Stronger article for  while. I can’t describe in words the renewed energy and positivity (and most importantly motivation) I now feel. If you haven’t read it yet, I suggest you call a friend who buys or subscribes to the magazine and get reading! Always remember, when things look bleak, you have an amazing strength inside that’s just waiting for you to tap into it. Be present in your power. Embrace it and own it.

Til next time.

Adrienne Graham

