I, Adrienne Graham, am an Empowered Black Woman.

Last week I wrote about the Women of Power Summit and stated how proud I felt to be in the presence of so many wonderful and powerful Black Women. Since then, I’ve gotten many email from women all over asking about ways they can learn from what I shared and how they can also become empowered. I also have taken some time to reflect on Empower Me and come up with new ways to help empower even more women.

I am always proud to reach back and give back to my sisters. But the first thing I share is that it is not a cake walk by any means. I’m in a great place. I love my life and I try to spread my positivity and knowledge to all my sisters. But it has been a long and trying road. As I look back over my “career”, I have encountered such tremendous obstacles. I have had high moments and low moments. When I was experiencing the low moments, I felt like I was running up a down escalator. It’s very hard to tell someone “it’ll get better” when they feel the weight of the world on their shoulders. Been there. But what separates the winners is the ability to K.I.M. (keep it moving) when times are at their bleakest. I’ll admit, there were so many times I wanted to quit. Just lay in my bed with the shades closed with my tv remote. And I confess, there were a few times I DID stay in my bed. But I made the conscious decision to shake it off and press on.

We are such powerful women even when we don’t see it ourselves. There is a line in my Founder’s Note on the Empower Me website that is along the lines of “we were working along side our men in the fields. We were working long before the women’s movement because we HAD to.” And it’s true. We are often called upon to hold together our families, hold down a job (or three), complete our education, and still be the strong fabulous women we are meant to be. I don’t believe in the word “can’t”. I believe we all have a purpose in this life and the means to achieve that purpose provided we never give up.

Education + Action = TRUE Empowerment….That is the power of an Empowered Black Woman. So for those of you who haven’t quite made it yet, keep it moving. Never give up. Dig down deep inside and find that strength your ancestors had. Tap into that and you can move mountains. For those of you who have made it, there is no shame in reaching back to help another sister. If you’re not empowered, GET EMPOWERED.

Til next time.

Adrienne Graham
Empower Me!
“The Empowered Black Woman”

